Since 1921, The New York State Telecommunications Association, Inc. (NYSTA) has represented the interests of New York’s premier telecommunications providers. NYSTA’s membership includes telecommunications service providers throughout the state from larger national firms such as AT&T, Sprint, and Windstream to smaller providers across New York.

Founded in 1921 by 13 telephone companies as the “Upstate Telephone Association of New York,” in 1935 the name was changed to the New York State Telephone Association, Inc. to reflect a broadened scope of interests. In 1997, responding to major changes in the industry, the Association changed its name to the New York State Telecommunications Association, Inc. Currently, in addition to the 52 telecommunications carriers, the Association includes 19 internet service providers and more than 150 associated manufacturers, suppliers, and consultants to the industry.

Governed by a 16-member Board of Directors, day-to-day operation of the Association is provided by a staff of two professionals.